top of page
Search
  • kathrynrosehewison

Celebrating children’s inspirational imagination & collaboration in dance performances in Leeds:

As part of Improplay, a dance project bringing together young children, professional dance artists and teachers to explore dance improvisation’s recent projects we would like to celebrate children’s inspirational performances in Leeds.

“We are incredibly proud of the children’s creative journey, co-creating the dance work, developing imagination & movement potential and performing on stage for the first time, along side 7 professional dancers. The children inspired us more than we could have imagined throughout the whole process and during the performance” - Katy Hewison (Improplay Creator/Director)


Outdoor performances/workshops were held with children and families at Middleton Park & in Wetherby during August & September. Followed by a Theatre Performance at Yorkshire Dance on 2nd October, which was also live streamed online as part of the national showcase ‘Children & Their Grown Ups’. “There wasn’t a dry eye in the house. Teachers and parents were astounded at the confidence and freedom their children demonstrated whilst those of us who didn’t know them were deeply touched by witnessing the beauty of each unique child through their movement. One can only wish each child could be part of a process like this!” - Wieke Eringa, Yorkshire Dance


Watch post show feedback https://youtu.be/h6IxZJU2GnU


Audience members mentioned: “my child is usually a bit anxious although her confidence is booming” & “Something I can’t explain or put into words but I have seen kids that would struggle in social settings, when it comes to playing, when it comes to chatting, talking, and the way that I could see them feel the music, like it’s genuinely magic and it’s not an understatement, it was magic to see. I could see, it literally moved through their bodies. Amazing to see them be able to express in a certain way that I know and I have witnessed that they can’t do other ways”. Children post-performance at Yorkshire Dance said: “I feel like I was flying in the sky when we were dancing”, “I feel really really happy right now and today I really loved it, yay!”, “I feel happy and I feel proud of myself and I did good dancing and I feel like a superstar”.


We believe their aren’t quite words for the magical moments which happened onstage & outdoors too, a huge thanks to all of the children & families involved, we are incredibly proud of you all.


Improplay Theatre Performance at Yorkshire Dance

Film by Aaron Howell




Improplay in Wetherby (Village Hall/Outdoors) with Wetherby Arts Festival

Film by Elly Welford


Thanks to Friends of Middleton Park, Volunteers at Wetherby Arts Festival & Wetherby Primary Schools, Yorkshire Dance, Improplay (Katy Hewison, Inari Hulkkonen, Edward Jeffreys, James Olivo, Rachel Sullivan, Bun Kobayashi, Tora Hed, Wilfred Kimber, Amy Dalton Hardy), Richmond Hill Academy, Lily Smith, Children & Families. Funded by Arts Council England & Leeds Inspired, part of Leeds City Council. Images by Elly Welford.



15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page